JD Docket

Wayne State University Law School

regular Mar 15, 2027 · final Aug 1, 2027

0 of 6 required items complete· next deadline in 149 days

Your numbers against the class of 2025

LSAT157–166 · median 164

CAS GPA3.56–3.95 · median 3.89

This is a comparison against published numbers, not a prediction. Admissions committees weigh essays, letters, and experience that no percentile captures.

1,290 applications, 320 offers, 120 enrolled · Verified 2026-08-18 · view source

What it costs, how graduates fare

Tuition2025-26

$38,861–$42,632 full-time · resident to non-resident · plus $3,733 annual fees

$20,726–$22,737 part-time

Living expenses $25,132 on campus

Tuition and the fees the school certifies alongside it — not a full cost of attendance.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA Standard 509 report

Bar passageclass of 2025

73.8%first-time+2.2

71.7% is the average for all ABA-accredited schools’ graduates in the same jurisdictions this school’s graduates sat in · 96 of 130 first-time takers passed

87.6% of the class of 2023 were admitted within two years of graduating

A pass rate on its own says as much about which states a school feeds as about the school, so the ABA’s own like-for-like average is shown with it.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA bar passage report

Employmentclass of 2025

105 of 124 (84.7%) in full-time, long-term jobs requiring bar admission

Ten months after graduation · 13 more in JD-advantage jobs · 1 still seeking

The ABA collects employment status and job type only. It collects no salary, so no salary figure comes from this filing.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA employment summary

First-year attrition2024-25

2.0% of the first-year class · 2 students

No law school publishes a graduation rate, so this is not one. It is the students who left in their first year, academic and other, as filed. Transfers out are reported separately and are not counted here.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA Standard 509 report

EarningsCollege Scorecard

Not a starting salary.

$70,500 median one year after finishing · $96,763 after four

$107,773 is the national median at four years for the same credential

A College Scorecard median for 2017-18 and 2018-19 completers who received federal aid, measured a fixed number of years after they finished — not what this year’s graduates are being paid, and not a figure the school or the ABA publishes. The ABA collects no salary data at all.

Verified 2026-08-27 · College Scorecard

Essays

  • Personal statementRequiredstart by Feb 22, 2027

    A personal statement that enables the admissions committee to gain a better sense of who the applicant is and what they will bring to Wayne Law.

    Notes & source

    Wayne Law publishes no separate prompt page — the quoted text above is the entire published instruction, given as a bullet in the 'Application components' list. No word or page limit, formatting rule, or generative-AI policy is published anywhere on the admissions pages or in the 2026 Admissions Bulletin, so no word_limit or page_limit is recorded. The statement carries extra weight because it is where the school directs applicants to raise mitigating context: the admissions policy invites 'other special circumstances the candidate brings to the attention of the Admissions Committee in their personal statement or elsewhere in his application,' and closes with 'Applicants are encouraged to discuss any or all of these factors in their personal statements' — the factors being academic achievement, socioeconomic disadvantage and first-generation status, substantial obstacles such as family or personal adversity and prejudice or discrimination, reasons a test score or record may understate current potential, and contributions to a diverse and engaged student body including residence in the city of Detroit.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

  • Optional essayOptionalschool-specificstart by Mar 8, 2027

    Applicants are invited to submit an optional second statement, responding to one of the following prompts: (1) Describe a quality or skill that you have and are proud of. If you think it will help you in your legal career, tell us how. (2) Would your friends and acquaintances describe you differently from the way you would describe yourself (3) How has the world you came from positively shaped who you are today? (4) Will you bring to this law school ideas, perspectives, or experiences that you expect are different from those shared by most law students? What are they? (5) Describe a challenge, failure, or setback you have faced. It might relate to your life as a whole (for example, a health condition, financial challenges, or difficult family circumstances), or it might relate to a specific hurdle you faced in your education or at the workplace. How did you confront it? What, if anything, might you have done differently?

    Notes & source

    One row, not five: the school asks for a single 'optional second statement' and the applicant answers ONE of the five prompts (the page italicizes 'one'). The five prompts are quoted verbatim and are numbered here only to separate them; the page presents them as an unnumbered list. Prompt (2) is reproduced exactly as published, without a closing question mark. Recorded as optional_essay rather than perspective_statement because it is a school-specific menu with a pick-one rule, even though prompts (3) and (4) are recognizably the perspective-statement genre and prompt (5) the adversity genre — an applicant with an existing perspective statement will likely find prompt (3) or (4) reusable, but no overlap credit is claimed for a menu only one item of which can be answered. No word or page limit is published for this statement.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

Letters & documents

  • Letter of recommendation (1 of 2)Requiredstart by Feb 15, 2027
    Notes & source

    'Two letters of recommendation from individuals who can comment on the applicant's intellectual abilities and academic performance.' An academic letter is conditionally mandatory: 'An academic letter of recommendation is required from a professor who taught at least one of your classes for any applicant who is currently completing their undergraduate degree or graduated from their undergraduate institution in 2022 or later.' Also: 'Letters from relatives or family friends are not acceptable' and 'An employer may submit recommendation letters for applicants who have been out of school since 2021 or earlier.' No maximum is published, so no count_accepted is recorded — the pages are silent on whether more than two letters are accepted or considered. Two discrepancies between the website and the 2026 Admissions Bulletin (law.wayne.edu/pdfs/lawadmissionsbulletin2026.pdf), with the website preferred here as the more current and more specific source: the bulletin's academic-letter trigger omits current undergraduates ('any applicant who graduated from their undergraduate institution in 2022 or later'), and its employer-letter window is 'applicants who graduated in 2020 or earlier' against the website's 'out of school since 2021 or earlier.' The bulletin adds a routing instruction the website leaves out: 'Letters of recommendation should be sent directly to LSAC Law Services.'

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

  • Letter of recommendation (2 of 2)Requiredstart by Feb 15, 2027
    Notes & source

    'Two letters of recommendation from individuals who can comment on the applicant's intellectual abilities and academic performance.' An academic letter is conditionally mandatory: 'An academic letter of recommendation is required from a professor who taught at least one of your classes for any applicant who is currently completing their undergraduate degree or graduated from their undergraduate institution in 2022 or later.' Also: 'Letters from relatives or family friends are not acceptable' and 'An employer may submit recommendation letters for applicants who have been out of school since 2021 or earlier.' No maximum is published, so no count_accepted is recorded — the pages are silent on whether more than two letters are accepted or considered. Two discrepancies between the website and the 2026 Admissions Bulletin (law.wayne.edu/pdfs/lawadmissionsbulletin2026.pdf), with the website preferred here as the more current and more specific source: the bulletin's academic-letter trigger omits current undergraduates ('any applicant who graduated from their undergraduate institution in 2022 or later'), and its employer-letter window is 'applicants who graduated in 2020 or earlier' against the website's 'out of school since 2021 or earlier.' The bulletin adds a routing instruction the website leaves out: 'Letters of recommendation should be sent directly to LSAC Law Services.'

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

  • RésuméRequiredstart by Mar 8, 2027
    Notes & source

    'A resume detailing the applicant's education, work history, and community service — written in reverse chronological order — is required.' No page limit is published, so none is recorded; the page states no formatting rules beyond reverse chronological order.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

  • Transcripts via LSAC CASRequiredstart by Feb 22, 2027
    Notes & source

    'The JD-CAS report, which will include the applicant's LSAT score(s) if applicable, and copies of transcripts from U.S. undergraduate universities and colleges the applicant has attended. The applicant must direct each U.S. undergraduate institution attended to send a transcript to LSAC.' Registration with the Law School Data Assembly Service is required of all applicants. Foreign coursework: 'Applicants educated outside the U.S., its territories, or Canada must make use of the JD-CAS credential evaluation service for transcripts,' with one exception — 'any foreign work completed through a study abroad, consortium or exchange program sponsored by a U.S. or Canadian institution where the work is clearly indicated as such on the home campus transcript.' The 2026 Admissions Bulletin softens this into a preference the website does not state: 'We prefer use of the JD-CAS, but we will also accept evaluations from organizations that are members of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services or the Association of International Credential Evaluators.' A separate final transcript goes to the school, not to LSAC: 'A final and official transcript must be submitted directly to Wayne Law by August 1st,' and 'A final official transcript must be sent to the Law School before enrolling.' Eligibility: 'An applicant for admission to the J.D. program must have a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university.' No minimum GPA is published for first-year applicants. The pages are silent on TOEFL or IELTS; the bulletin says only that 'Proficiency in English language (both written and oral) and in analytical skills is essential to the successful study of law,' which is not stated as a testing requirement.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

  • LSAT or GRERequiredstart by Jan 14, 2027
    Notes & source

    Either test is accepted: 'All applicants to Wayne Law register for and take the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) or the Graduate Record Examinations (GRE).' GRE scores go to the school directly, not through CAS: 'If you are applying with a GRE score, this score must be sent to Wayne Law through ets.org using school code 0185.' Timing and validity: 'Applicants must take the GRE or LSAT no later than June of the year in which they intend to enroll. The Admissions Office will accept test scores that are up to five years old.' JD-Next is a supplement only: 'Wayne Law does not accept the JD Next exam as a standalone admissions test. However, applicants are welcome to submit a JD Next score as a supplemental credential to complement an LSAT score as part of our holistic review process' — the 2026 Admissions Bulletin puts the same rule as 'Whether you rely on the LSAT or the GRE, you may also submit a JD-Next exam score. To be complete, however, your application must contain an LSAT or GRE score.' No minimum score is published, and the pages do not say whether multiple LSAT scores are averaged or the highest is taken. The published admissions standards do describe a numeric screen without publishing its cutoffs: the Admissions Office admits applicants whose 'factor score' is above a 'presumptive admit' level and may reject those below a 'presumptive deny' level, both set by the Admissions Committee.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

Administrative

  • Application feeOptionalat submission
    Notes & source

    There is no application fee. The J.D. admissions page states 'Wayne Law doesn't have an application fee'; the application-process page labels the application 'Free online application'; the 2026 Admissions Bulletin calls it 'The free Law School online application'; and the school's 2025 ABA Standard 509 report lists 'Application fee: 0.' Because the fee does not exist, no waiver process is published and none is needed.

    Verified 2026-09-10 · source page

Every item above was verified against law.wayne.edu on 2026-09-10. Expand any item for its own source. Always confirm against the school before you submit — and if we have something wrong, report an error.

Track plan

is part of the Track plan.

Browsing every school stays free. Keeping a list of your own — with its checklist, timeline, and reminders — is the Track plan. You will need an account first — anything built in this browser comes with you when you sign in.

Track starts with a 14-day free trial. Nothing is charged before day 15, and cancelling before then costs nothing.