JD Docket

Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School

early action Dec 31, 2026 · regular Mar 1, 2027 · final May 1, 2027

0 of 7 required items complete· next deadline in 75 days

Your numbers against the class of 2025

LSAT168–172 · median 170

CAS GPA3.82–3.98 · median 3.95

This is a comparison against published numbers, not a prediction. Admissions committees weigh essays, letters, and experience that no percentile captures.

649 applications, 148 offers, 122 enrolled · Verified 2026-08-17 · view source

What it costs, how graduates fare

Tuition2025-26

$15,992–$31,984 full-time · resident to non-resident

Living expenses $20,292 on campus · $22,436 off

Tuition and the fees the school certifies alongside it — not a full cost of attendance.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA Standard 509 report

Bar passageclass of 2025

96.8%first-time+12.1

84.8% is the average for all ABA-accredited schools’ graduates in the same jurisdictions this school’s graduates sat in · 123 of 127 first-time takers passed

100.0% of the class of 2023 were admitted within two years of graduating

A pass rate on its own says as much about which states a school feeds as about the school, so the ABA’s own like-for-like average is shown with it.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA bar passage report

Employmentclass of 2025

114 of 127 (89.8%) in full-time, long-term jobs requiring bar admission

Ten months after graduation · 6 more in JD-advantage jobs · 0 still seeking · 3 of the bar-admission jobs are funded by the school

The ABA collects employment status and job type only. It collects no salary, so no salary figure comes from this filing.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA employment summary

First-year attrition2024-25

0.0% of the first-year class · 0 students

No law school publishes a graduation rate, so this is not one. It is the students who left in their first year, academic and other, as filed. Transfers out are reported separately and are not counted here.

Verified 2026-08-27 · ABA Standard 509 report

Essays

  • Personal statementRequired · 2 pgstart by Dec 10, 2026

    Personal Statement – Two pages about yourself

    Notes & source

    The quoted line is the entire published description on the JD Program tab's application checklist; the site does not publish a fuller prompt, topic guidance, or formatting rules (spacing, font, margins). Per the FAQ, an updated personal statement may be emailed to admissions2@law.byu.edu after submission.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • Optional essayOptional · 1 pgschool-specificstart by Dec 24, 2026

    Optional Essay – One page describing an aspect of your background and experience and how it has affected your life and will allow you to contribute uniquely to BYU Law.

    Notes & source

    Listed on the JD Program tab immediately after the required application components. The quoted line is the entire published description; no formatting rules are published.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • Why this schoolOptionalschool-specificstart by Dec 21, 2026

    Why do you want to attend BYU Law?

    Notes & source

    Known only from the admissions FAQ, which — answering 'Do you offer an early decision program?' — says: 'No. Applicants for whom BYU Law is their top choice, or is among their top choices, are invited to indicate this preference in their “Why do you want to attend BYU Law?” statement in the application.' The statement lives inside the LSAC application form; the public site does not state whether it is required or give any length limit, so it is recorded as optional pending verification against the application form itself.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

Letters & documents

  • Letter of recommendation (1 of 2)Requiredstart by Dec 3, 2026
    Notes & source

    JD Program tab: 'Letters of Recommendation – Two letters from professors discussing your academic abilities (professional references are acceptable from non-traditional candidates).' The FAQ confirms two are required and that all letters must go through the LSAC Letter of Recommendation Service (included in CAS) — they may not be sent directly to the school. Current undergraduates and recent graduates should use faculty who taught them; applicants further out may use an employer or other individual who knows their academic abilities. The committee is 'interested primarily in the recommender's judgment about your academic abilities and potential for success in the legal profession.' The site does not state a maximum number of letters accepted.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • Letter of recommendation (2 of 2)Requiredstart by Dec 3, 2026
    Notes & source

    JD Program tab: 'Letters of Recommendation – Two letters from professors discussing your academic abilities (professional references are acceptable from non-traditional candidates).' The FAQ confirms two are required and that all letters must go through the LSAC Letter of Recommendation Service (included in CAS) — they may not be sent directly to the school. Current undergraduates and recent graduates should use faculty who taught them; applicants further out may use an employer or other individual who knows their academic abilities. The committee is 'interested primarily in the recommender's judgment about your academic abilities and potential for success in the legal profession.' The site does not state a maximum number of letters accepted.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • RésuméRequired · 1 pgstart by Dec 24, 2026
    Notes & source

    JD Program tab: 'Resume – One page describing your academic, extracurricular, and professional activities.' An updated resume may be emailed to admissions2@law.byu.edu after submission (FAQ).

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • Transcripts via LSAC CASRequiredstart by Dec 10, 2026
    Notes & source

    Applicants must sign up for an LSAC account and the Credential Assembly Service (CAS) and submit the electronic application through LSAC, including college transcripts. A CAS report is required of all applicants regardless of which admissions test they take (including GRE-only, JD Next, and LSAT-exempt applicants). A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university must be earned prior to the start of law school. CAS fee waivers are granted to applicants who have received an LSAC fee waiver. International JD applicants whose credentials require it must submit official CAE, Duolingo English Test (DET), IELTS, or TOEFL scores; an English proficiency test waiver may be considered case-by-case (International Students tab).

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • LSAT or GRERequiredstart by Nov 1, 2026
    Notes & source

    LSAT, GRE, or JD Next accepted: 'All applicants for admission to the J.D. Program are required to take either the Law School Admission Test (LSAT), the Graduate Record Examinations (GRE), or the JD Next unless they qualify for the LSAT Exemption.' No numerical cutoffs are used. Multiple LSAT scores: greater weight to the highest valid score; with both GRE and LSAT, the LSAT is weighted more (all valid LSAT scores arrive automatically via CAS). GRE evaluation: BYU Law averages the 'Percent Below' values of the Verbal, Quantitative, and Analytical Writing sections; official reports only from ETS, recipient 'BYU J. Reuben Clark Law School.' LSAT Exemption: a limited number of applicants may be admitted with no LSAT/GRE/JD Next score, judged on LSAC-calculated undergraduate GPA plus an ACT or SAT score sent to BYU; ineligible if a GRE or JD Next score has been reported to BYU Law. GRE, JD Next, and LSAT-exempt applicants remain eligible for general merit scholarships but not the Clark or Dean's Scholarship. The committee will hold an application for a future test score on request (admissions@law.byu.edu). In the Fall 2025 entering class, 80 enrollees were admitted on the LSAT, 1 on the GRE, and 41 with no LSAT/GRE/JD Next score (2025 ABA 509 report).

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • Dean's certificationRequiredstart by Dec 17, 2026
    Notes & source

    Not actually a dean's certification — this is BYU's Honor Code Commitment and Ecclesiastical Endorsement, recorded under the closest taxonomy type. All applicants (Latter-day Saint and not) agree to abide by the Church Educational System Honor Code and Related Policies. Latter-day Saint applicants without a current (unexpired) endorsement must obtain one from their current bishop AND a member of their stake presidency; non-Latter-day Saint applicants need an endorsement from a member of clergy of their own faith (or a local Latter-day Saint bishop) and from the non-denominational BYU chaplain. A current unexpired Honor Code Commitment and Ecclesiastical Endorsement carries over without redoing it. The application is not ready for review until this component is complete (FAQ). Completed at honorcodecommit.byu.edu and honorcode.byu.edu/ecclesiastical-endorsements-and-resources; a BYU Net ID is needed. Related context from the FAQ: the school 'welcome[s] applicants from all religious backgrounds but give[s] strong preference to qualified, faithful members of the Church in admissions decisions.'

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

Administrative

  • Application feeOptionalat submission
    Notes & source

    No application fee. FAQ: 'No. We do not charge a fee for applying to our law school. We also grant Credential Assembly Service (CAS) fee waivers to applicants who have received an LSAC fee waiver.' The 2025 ABA 509 report likewise lists the application fee as $0.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

  • InterviewOptionalat submission
    Notes & source

    FAQ: 'We do not offer interviews as a formal component of the admissions process. However, a member of the Admissions Committee may request an interview with an applicant on a case-by-case basis.' The same case-by-case possibility applies to waitlisted applicants.

    Verified 2026-08-17 · source page

Every item above was verified against law.byu.edu on 2026-08-17. Expand any item for its own source. Always confirm against the school before you submit — and if we have something wrong, report an error.

Track plan

is part of the Track plan.

Browsing every school stays free. Keeping a list of your own — with its checklist, timeline, and reminders — is the Track plan. You will need an account first — anything built in this browser comes with you when you sign in.

Track starts with a 14-day free trial. Nothing is charged before day 15, and cancelling before then costs nothing.